UM Soccer Goalie Catalina Perez On Bigger Stage After World Cup

CBS Miami

Follow CBSMIAMI.COM: Facebook | Twitter

CORAL GABLES (CBSMiami) – In about three weeks the University of Miami women’s soccer team will hit the field to start the 2015 season.

Their last line of defense just so happens to be a world class goal keeper.

Before Catalina Perez stepped onto to the World Cup stage she was trying to make it in America, leaving behind her native country of Colombia at the age of four.

“I didn’t speak English at all,” explained Perez. “I was very shy and I would go to school and I would just sit there and that’s when soccer became an outlet. I didn’t talk much but [playing soccer] I didn’t have to talk much. I could just play.”

She never stopped playing and by the age of 15 she landed on the Colombian national team.  As fate would have it, her first World Cup match…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

